NASA Knowledge Community

The NASA knowledge community is a vibrant group of practitioners who actively facilitate knowledge capture, storage, reuse and sharing across the agency. NASA’s knowledge community includes mission directorate, center and organizational Chief Knowledge Officers (CKO), Points of Contact (POC) and Knowledge Services Leads. The community meets face-to-face biannually in accordance with NASA Policy Directive 7120.6 and at the recommendation of the Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel (ASAP) in order to share leading practices; deepen understanding of lessons learned and how they impact mission success and failure; learn from industry partners; and work on agencywide problem-solving.

 

 

Office of the Chief Knowledge Officer (OCKO)

Roger Forsgren is the NASA CKO. In response to the Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel (ASAP) recommendation for NASA to establish a single focal point within the agency to develop the policy and requirements necessary to integrate knowledge capture across programs, projects and centers, OCKO leads the effort to develop more consistent knowledge capability across the agency.

Specialty: Lessons learned, knowledge sharing

OCKO Knowledge Services Team
Roger Forsgren | roger.c.forsgren@nasa.gov | 202-358-0859
Ben Bruneau | bbruneau@asrcfederal.com | 301-821-5493
Deana Nunley | dnunley@asrcfederal.com | 727-215-9996
Susan Snyder | susan.snyder-1@nasa.gov | 301-837-3918

Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate (ARMD)

Neal Nijhawan is CKO of NASA’s Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate (ARMD). Nijhawan is instrumental in bringing together program directors and aero research directors at NASA’s four aeronautics centers — Ames Research Center, Armstrong Flight Research Center, Glenn Research Center and Langley Research Center — to meet biweekly for cross-center coordination and project reviews.

Specialty: Research, project coordination

CKO: Neal Nijhawan | nnijhawa@nasa.gov | 202-358-2305

Ames Research Center (ARC)

Donald Mendoza is the CKO for NASA’s Ames Research Center and chairman of the center’s Lessons Learned committee. Mendoza says it’s critical to capture and organize lessons learned to avoid repeating the same mishaps, failures and missteps.

Specialty: Lessons learned, corporate knowledge management

CKO: Don Mendoza | donald.r.mendoza@nasa.gov | 650-604-2845

Armstrong Flight Research Center (AFRC)

Bradford Neal serves as the CKO and Chief Engineer at NASA’s Armstrong Flight Research Center (AFRC), and provides independent technical guidance and oversight to Armstrong flight projects to ensure conformance with agency and center standards, policies and processes. Neal says one of Armstrong’s biggest knowledge sharing challenges is allowing people the opportunity to slow down long enough to think about what knowledge they have collected and how to capture and share it.

Specialty: Human interaction, lessons learned

CKO: Bradford Neal | bradford.a.neal@nasa.gov | 661-276-3204

Glenn Research Center (GRC)

Marton Forkosh serves as the CKO at NASA’s Glenn Research Center (GRC). Forkosh says Glenn has benefited from the insight of local knowledge management leaders from industry and academia who have helped identify gaps in knowledge sharing efforts.

Specialty: Mentorship, strategic planning and implementation

GRC Knowledge Services Team
Marton Forkosh | marton.forkosh-1@nasa.gov | 216-433-8791
Lee Jackson | lee.a.jackson@nasa.gov | 216-416-5714

Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC)

Edward Rogers serves as the CKO at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC). Rogers says people love to learn, and the key is to make it easy and interesting by sharing stories that provide context and consequence.

Specialty: Case studies, pause and learn

GSFC Knowledge Services Team
Edward Rogers | ed.rogers@nasa.gov | 301-286-4467
Moses Adoko | moses.adoko-1@nasa.gov | 301-286-0114
Barbara Fillip | barbara.fillip@nasa.gov | 301-286-4666

Human Exploration Operations Mission Directorate (HEOMD)

Patrick Johnson serves as the CKO of NASA’s Human Exploration and Operations (HEO) Mission Directorate. Johnson champions a culture that understands the importance of continual learning, process improvement and knowledge sharing.

Specialty: Critical knowledge sharing, knowledge transfer

HEO Knowledge Services Team
Patrick Johnson | patrick.d.johnson@nasa.gov | 202-358-1521
Renee Pullen | renee.f.pullen@nasa.gov | 202-358-4596

Independent Verification and Validation (IV&V)

Jeff Northey is the CKO for NASA’s Independent Verification and Validation (IV&V) Program and leads the IV&V Strategic Communications Office. Northey has helped establish a knowledge strategy that includes a simple model for people to actively acquire, share and apply knowledge.

Specialty: Learning organization, knowledge strategy

CKO: Jeff Northey | jeffrey.r.northey@nasa.gov | 304-367-8250

Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)

David Oberhettinger is the CKO at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL). Oberhettinger embraces the challenge of retaining and sharing the wealth of technical knowledge accumulated by the institution, project and individuals.

Specialty: Lessons learned, knowledge management strategy

JPL Knowledge Services Team
David Oberhettinger | david.j.oberhettinger@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-393-0952
Charles White | charles.p.white@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-2743

Johnson Space Center (JSC)

Jim Rostohar is the CKO at NASA’s Johnson Space Center (JSC). Rostohar says having the right analytical search tools can be a game-changer in terms of technical search capabilities.

Specialty: Data science, search/tag/taxonomy

JSC Knowledge Services Team
Jim Rostohar | james.a.rostohar@nasa.gov | 281-483-7486
Julie Barnes | julie.a.barnes@nasa.gov | 281-483-8407
David Meza | david.meza-1@nasa.gov | 281-483-6711

Kennedy Space Center (KSC)

Michael Bell is the CKO at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center. Bell leads the cross-agency Lessons Learned Information System and is instrumental to the work of the lessons learned steering committees. He says sharing knowledge helps spur innovation and new thoughts on solving problems.

Specialty: Lessons learned, innovation

KSC Knowledge Services Team
Michael Bell | michael.a.bell@nasa.gov | 321-867-3312
Ali Shaykhian | ali.shaykhian@nasa.gov | 321-861-2336

Langley Research Center (LaRC)

NASA’s Langley Research Center mission organizations work in cooperation with IT on projects and initiatives that help with knowledge capture, access, sharing and archiving. The center’s Knowledge Services Team has been successful with big data mining and deep analytics – mining knowledge for insights, trends and predictions.

Specialty: Data analysis, enterprise search

LaRC Knowledge Services Team
Bob Estes | robert.f.estes@nasa.gov | 757-864-8279
Bart Singer | bart.a.singer@nasa.gov | 757-864-2154
Hope Venus | hope.r.venus@nasa.gov | 757-864-9530

Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC)

Paul McConnaughey is the Associate Director, Technical, supporting the Office of the Center Director at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC) and serves as MSFC CKO. McConnaughey says communities of practice with an engineering-driven focus are helping project offices understand that learning lessons and getting smart before they start is a good approach.

Specialty: Communities of practice, lessons learned distilling

MSFC Knowledge Services Team
Paul McConnaughey | paul.k.mcconnaughey@nasa.gov | 256-544-1599
Jennifer Stevens | jennifer.s.stevens@nasa.gov | 256-544-5004

NASA Engineering and Safety Center (NESC)

Dan Yuchnovicz is the CKO for the NASA Engineering and Safety Center (NESC). Yuchnovicz says the biggest challenge facing knowledge managers is getting the right information to the right people at the right time in the development cycle.

Specialty: Lessons learned, technical assessment

CKO: Dan Yuchnovicz | daniel.e.yuchnovicz@nasa.gov | 757-864-7272

NASA Engineering Network (NEN)

Daria Topousis is the NASA Engineering Network (NEN) Project Manager and Knowledge Services Lead. Topousis says communities of practice are critical to NEN and to knowledge sharing and growth in the engineering discipline.

Specialty: Communities of practice, federated search

NEN Knowledge Services Team
Daria Topousis | daria.topousis@nasa.gov | 818-354-5582
Jennifer Ibaven | jennifer.m.ibaven@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-2738
Tina Martinez-Rocha | rebecca.c.martinez-rocha@jpl.nasa.gov | 818-354-9624

NASA History Division (NHD)

Stephen Garber is a Historian in the NASA History Division (NHD) and serves as the Knowledge Services Lead. Garber says history and the knowledge it imparts is important for everybody.

Specialty: History, knowledge sharing

NHD Knowledge Services Team
Stephen Garber | stephen.j.garber@nasa.gov | 202-358-0385

NASA Safety Center (NSC)

Mike Lipka is the Knowledge Services Point of Contact (POC) for the NASA Safety Center. Lipka says he thinks the most relevant and interesting knowledge management activity is peer-to-peer knowledge sharing.

Specialty: Peer-to-peer knowledge sharing, collaboration

NSC Knowledge Services Team
Mike Lipka | michael.j.lipka@nasa.gov | 440-962-3172

Office of Human Capital Management (OHCM)

Billy McMillan serves as the Knowledge Services Lead for the NASA Headquarters Office of Human Capital Management (OHCM). McMillan says knowledge never stops and is always evolving.

Specialty: Innovation, workforce engagement

OHCM Knowledge Services Team
Billy McMillan | william.m.mcmillan@nasa.gov | 202-358-0915

Office of Procurement (OP)

Barbara Trujillo serves as the Knowledge Services Lead for the NASA Headquarters Office of Procurement. Trujillo says improved knowledge sharing processes result in more efficient and effective execution of contracts.

Specialty: Business processes, knowledge management strategy

OP Knowledge Services Team
Barbara Trujillo | barbara.j.trujillo@nasa.gov | 202-358-0443
Yolande Harden | yharden@nasa.gov | 202-358-1279

Office of the Chief Financial Officer (OCFO)

Ted Mills is the Knowledge Services Lead for NASA’s Office of the Chief Financial Officer. Mills says knowledge sharing has helped make previous project data and historical cost, schedule and basic performance knowledge available to anyone who needs it.

Specialty: Knowledge database, cost analysis

OCFO Knowledge Services Team
Ted Mills | ted.mills@nasa.gov | 202-358-1128
Marc Greenberg | marc.w.greenberg@nasa.gov | 202-358-1025

Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer (OCHMO)

Mark Weyland is the Knowledge Services Lead for NASA’s Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer (OCHMO). Weyland says it takes effort to keep up with new developments and new knowledge, but the payoff is worth much more than the investment.

Specialty: Integration, risk management

OCHMO Knowledge Services Team
Mark Weyland | mark.d.weyland@nasa.gov | 281-483-6193

Science Mission Directorate (SMD)

George Albright is CKO of NASA’s Science Mission Directorate (SMD). He has served on various management committees and advisory panels within NASA dealing with the revitalization and reinvention of NASA as a strong systems management culture, and has spoken often at NASA management seminars on leadership, systems engineering, and the facilitation of knowledge based organizations.

Specialty: Knowledge sharing, systems management

CKO: George Albright | george.albright@nasa.gov | 202-358-0356

Scientific and Technical Information (STI)

Karen Fallon is the Deputy Program Manager for the NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program and serves as the STI Knowledge Services Lead. Fallon says magic has to happen in the background to connect and tag documents with search words and strong topics to make every piece of information in the esteemed STI collection discoverable.

Specialty: Repository management, discoverability

STI Knowledge Services Team
Karen Fallon | karen.fallon@nasa.gov | 757-864-4545

Space Technology Mission Directorate (STMD)

Trina Chytka is the Director of Space Technology Mission Directorate (STMD) Strategic Planning and Integration and serves as the STMD Knowledge Services Lead. Chytka is a proponent of shifting from hierarchical file systems to dynamic repositories that visualize information and data.

Specialty: Information visualization, technology development

STMD Knowledge Services Team
Trina Chytka | trina.m.chytka@nasa.gov | 757-864-1093
Stephanie Booth | stephanie.booth@nasa.gov | 202-358-5268

Stennis Space Center (SSC)

John Stealey serves as the Stennis Space Center (SSC) Engineering and Test Directorate Associate Director and the SSC CKO. Stealey says one of the biggest knowledge management challenges is readily accessing historical technical data online, such as design assumptions and calculations that go with drawings.

Specialty: Lessons learned, knowledge capture and application

CKO: John Stealey | john.e.stealey@nasa.gov | 228-688-2236

Back to Top